Back to Top

Six file to run in March GOP primary

By Lew K. Cohn
Managing Editor
The Highlander
Six people, including three incumbents, have officially filed to run for office in Burnet County in the March 6, 2018, Republic primary.
Among those who have filed to run with Republican Chairman Donna Holland Wilcox are incumbent County Judge James Oakley; incumbent Precinct 4 County Commissioner Joe Don Dockery and incumbent Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Lisa Whitehead.
Two individuals, Tom Stephens and Ryan Rowney, have filed to run for Precinct 2 County Commissioner, while Jane Marie Hurst has filed to run for Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace.
Saturday was the first day candidates could file to run for offices on the ballot for March 6. The filing deadline for major party candidates — and the filing deadline for independent candidates to declare their intent to run — is Monday, Dec. 11, at 6 p.m., according to the office of Texas Secretary of State Rolando Pablos.
Other offices which will be up for election next year include 424th Judicial District Judge; Burnet County Court at Law Judge; District Clerk; and County Clerk.

Jane Marie Hurst for Justice of the Peace Precinct #3 campaign, James Payne, Treasurer
Powered by - Political Websites
Close Menu